Cookie Policy

Opening Hours

Cogg Hall: MO till SU 10 AM till 6 PM + Ships daily 10 AM till 5.45 PM + free entrance for refugees + Безкоштовний вхід для українців


  • +49 471 482 07 0

Scientific Team



Scientific Team



Scientific management:


Prof. Dr. Ruth Schilling (Executive Director (commiss.), Professor for the communication of museum-related history of science at the University of Bremen


 Program Area I - Shipping and Society (Exhibiting and Communicating) -

Dr. Katharina Bothe (commiss. director)

 Program Area II - Ships as Stores of Knowledge (Collecting and Preserving) -

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Vehlken (Leitung) (Professor of Knowledge Processes and Digital Media, University of Oldenburg)

Area Environment

(including nature-culture relationship, Anthropocene, marine pollution, fisheries, whaling, munitions in the sea, deep-sea mining, biodiversity)

Dr. Sven Bergmann


Judith Beneker

Area Knowledge (including research shipping, navigation, mapping, collection research, knowledge processes, simulation, digital twin.)

Dr. des. Katrin Kleemann

Nils Theinert

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Vehlken

Area Society

(trade, navy, shipwrecks, sea rescue, cruising, shipbuilding, migration, colonialism)

Dr. Katharina Bothe

Dr. Philipp Grassel (LIFTE)

Dr. Bart Holterman (LIFTE)

Deike Reddig


Lotte Warnsholdt (Science-led digitization team)

Vyacheslav Bondarenko (Science-led digitization team)

Area Curation Research

Inclusion in museums, semi-permanence in exhibitions, research communication, making research visible and reflective in exhibitions.

Dr. Marleen von Bargen (Curator)

Dr. Isabella Hodgson (Digital Curator, Science Led Digitization Team).

Provenance and collection research

Maritime collecting, logistics of collecting, collection preservation, colonial context of museum collections, Nazi-confiscated cultural objects, Research Data Management

Tobias Goebel (Norddeutscher Lloyd in colonialism)

Arman Dzaferagic (Science-led digitization team)

Dr. Alexander Reis (research assistant digital documentation)

Susanne Kiel (LiftProv)

Dr. Katrin Kleibl (LiftProv)

Dr. Jacqueline Malchow (LiftProv)

Mediation research

Participation, visitor research, mediation formats

Birte Stüve (Management education and mediation)

Dr. Frederic Theis (DigiMat, Parental leave replacement for Karolin Leitermann)

Nicolas Dittgen (Science-led digitization team)

Research Infrastructure

Groups within the program areas

Annette Fischer (Education and Mediation Group)

NN (FSJ, Education and Placement Group)

Bernd Wecker (Education and Mediation Group)


NN (photographic service/ imaging)

Dennis Hoffmann (3D acquisition and imaging, science-led digitization team.)

Luca Junge (3D acquisition and imaging, science-led digitization team)

Dr. Alexander Reis (digital documentation)

Exhibition planning: Christoph Geiger (Scenography), Niels Hollmeier (Project Management)

Library / scientific editing: Erik Hoops (Management), Bernd Darter (Library management), Simon Kursawe (Library staff)

Museum harbor: Dr. Lars Kröger (scientific Coordination), Martin Claus (Technology)

Communication: Thomas Joppig (Leitung), Annica Müllenberg (Content Management), NN (Events and Fundraising)

Collection Infrastructure: Annika Opitz (Management), Dr. Christian Ostersehlte (Archive), Silke Wiedmann (Restoration), Heiko Maischl, Thomas Winsemann Joachim Nee, Andreas Frelkiewicz (Depot employees)

Science Administration: Dr. Angela Sommer (Referent), Wei-Hsin Tsao (Assistance)

Opening hours

Cog hall: Monday till Sunday from 10 am to 6 pm

Ships: daily from 10 a.m. to 5:45 p.m.

how to reach us

Deutsches Schifffahrtsmuseum
Hans-Scharoun-Platz 1
D-27568 Bremerhaven


T. +49 471 482 07 0

Contact person

.svgDSMlogo { fill: #fff; } .svgDSMType { display: block; } .svgDSMlogo { fill: #fff; } .svgDSMType { display: block; } .svgDSMlogoBlue { fill: #002c50; } .svgDSMType { display: block; } .svgDSMlogoBlue { fill: #002c50; } .svgDSMType { display: block; } .svgNavPlus { fill: #002c50; } .svgFacebook { fill: #002c50; } .svgYoutube { fill: #002c50; } .svgInstagram { fill: #002c50; } .svgLeibnizLogo { fill: #002c50; } .svgWatch { fill: #002c50; } .svgPin { fill: #002c50; } .svgLetter { fill: #002c50; }