Cookie Policy

Opening Hours

Cogg Hall: TUE - SU 10 AM till 6 PM + Ships reopen on 18 March 2024 + free entrance for refugees + Безкоштовний вхід для українців


  • +49 471 482 07 0




The Project North Sea Wrecks (NSW)


The North Sea Wrecks (NSW) project, funded by the European Union's Interreg programme, is the first international project to address the issue of the potential hazard of wrecks containing munition to the North Sea ecosystem. The project combines a number of research disciplines such as scientific diving, marine environmental research, toxicological analysis, social, legal and political sciences and archive research. The results are displayed to the public via a series of events and this unique travelling exhibition. We would like to thank all institutions and persons involved for the good success of the project and the excellent cooperation. We would like to express our special thanks to Jenny Thomsen, Project Advisor from the Joint Secretariat – Interreg North Sea Region Program and the Advisory Board Chairmen of the Ministry of Energy, Agriculture, Environment, Nature and Digitalisation (MELUND) in Schleswig-Holstein/Germany, namely Claus Böttcher and Jens Sternheim.


Lead Partner

German Maritime Museum – Leibniz Institute for Maritime History (DE)

Sven Bergmann | Philipp Grassel | Johannes Kellermann | Sunhild Kleingärtner | Felix Otte | Cornelia Riml | Ruth Schilling


Project Management and Communication

Ignacio Rada | Karsten Seidel (IKER Consulting) and German Maritime Museum – Leibniz Institute for Maritime History


Steering Group and Project Partner

Aarhus University – Department of Geoscience (DK)

               Katrine Juul Andresen | Ole Rønø Clausen |
               Maria Hvidkjær Jensen | Egon Nørmark |  
               Per Trinhammer

Alfred Wegener Institute – Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research (DE)

               Matthias Brenner | Tordis Hellmann

Flanders Marine Institute (BE)

               Sven Van Haelst | Maarten De Rijcke |

Institute of Toxicology and Pharmacology for Natural Scientists – University Medical School Schleswig-Holstein (DE)

               Tobias Bünning | Edmund Maser | Jennifer Strehse

NHL Stenden University of Applied Sciences – Maritime Institute Willem Barentsz (NL)

               Huibert-Jan Lekkerkerk | Welmoed van der Velde GmbH (DE)

               Jann Wendt | Simon van der Wulp

Norwegian Defence Research Establishment (NO)

               Arnt Johnsen | John Aa Tørnes | Øyvind Voie

PERIPLUS Consultancy (NL)

               Shobha Bhalla | Rens Cassée | André van Heerwaarde
               Bart van Mierlo


Advisory Board

Antwerp Maritime Academy (BE)

Governor of Province West Flanders Belgium (BE)

DAIMON and DAIMON2 project (PL)

Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community (DE)

Flanders Heritage Agency (BE)

Lower Saxony Ministry for the Environment, Energy, Building and Climate Protection (DE)

Major Projects Foundation (AU)

Ministry of Defence (UK)

Ministry of Education, Culture and Science, Agency for Cultural Heritage (NL)

OSPAR Commission (UK)

Norwegian Costal Administration (NO)

Schleswig-Holstein Ministry of Energy, Agriculture, the Environment, Nature and Digitalization – MELUND (DE)

Swedish Defence Research Agency (SE)

Västra Götaland Region, Regional Coordination Marine Spatial Planning (SE)


Supporting Institutions

Centre for Marine Sensors (ZfMarS), University Oldenburg (DE)

City of Bremen Senator for Climate Protection, Environment, Mobility, Urban Development and Housing (DE)

Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg (SE)

Federal Archive, Military Archive Freiburg im Breisgau (DE)

Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency (DE)

German Aerospace Center, Institute for the Protection of Maritime Infrastructures (DE)

Joint Secretariat - Interreg North Sea Region Programme (DK)

Lower Saxony Ministry of the Interior and Sport (DE)

Magistrate Bremerhaven (DE)

Ministry of Environment and Food (DK)

Royal Danish Navy – Ammunition Clearance Unit (DK)

Sea War Museum Jutland (DK)


Supporting Persons

Horst Thielbörger (DE)

Jouke Spoelstra (RNL Navy/Submarine service) (NL)

Uwe Wichert (German Programme on Underwater Munitions)(DE)


Travelling Exhibition „Toxic Legacies of War – North Sea Wrecks”

German Maritime Museum


Scientific Curation

Sven Bergmann | Philipp Grassel | Felix Otte | Cornelia Riml


Project Management

Johannes Kellermann | Cornelia Riml


Creative Advice

Christoph Geiger


Curation Advice

Ruth Schilling


Visitor Engagement and Evaluation

Birte Stüve | Jana Marks


Collections Management, Restoration and Archive

Klaus Fuest | Annika Opitz | Christian Ostersehlte
Silke Wiedmann | Thomas Winsemann


Accounting & Management Support

Barbara Siliamova | Yvonne Simminger


Public Relations and Homepage Design

Mareike Heger | Isabella Hodgson | Thomas Joppig
Elke Kreowski | Ann-Kathrin Kröger | Annica Müllenberg | Christina Müller


IT Support

Michael Pietsch | Birgit Schindler


Technical Support & Advices

Thomas Ackenhausen | Lena Knoop | Lothar Kuhlenkamp | Heiko Maischl | Joachim Nee | | Andreas Speetzen



Christina Ziegler-McPherson




English Translations

lingua•trans•fair, Berlin


Analogue wreck Model of SM UB 61

Model and processing: Maritime Institute Willem Barentsz
Data acquisition: G2 Surveys


Wreck animations

Dennis Hoffmann, German Maritime Museum

Marc Geilhufe | Roy Hansen | Ole Lorentzen | Torstein Sæbø | Stig Synnes, Norwegian Defence Research Establishment (FFI)


Exhibition, Media Design & Realisation

simple GmbH, Cologne



We thank all holders of rights for their support in providing photographs and graphics.






Opening hours

Cog hall: TUE - SUN from 10 am to 6 pm, open daily from 18.3.2024

Ships: Ships reopen on 18 March 2024

how to reach us

Deutsches Schifffahrtsmuseum
Hans-Scharoun-Platz 1
D-27568 Bremerhaven


T. +49 471 482 07 0

Contact person


.svgDSMlogo { fill: #fff; } .svgDSMType { display: block; } .svgDSMlogo { fill: #fff; } .svgDSMType { display: block; } .svgDSMlogoBlue { fill: #002c50; } .svgDSMType { display: block; } .svgDSMlogoBlue { fill: #002c50; } .svgDSMType { display: block; } .svgNavPlus { fill: #002c50; } .svgFacebook { fill: #002c50; } .svgYoutube { fill: #002c50; } .svgInstagram { fill: #002c50; } .svgLeibnizLogo { fill: #002c50; } .svgWatch { fill: #002c50; } .svgPin { fill: #002c50; } .svgLetter { fill: #002c50; }